The mission of the Assembly is to improve upon the living standards of the people in the district through effective mobilization and utilization of all available resources on sustainable basis with participation of the people. The District Assembly is composed of nineteen (19) members, thirteen (13) elected and six(6) Government Appointees. On Sub-District structures, the District has two(2) Area Councils namely Tordzenu Area Council and Tornu Area Council. The district has eleven(11) civil service departments and eight(8) Subvented agencies.


The Vision of the Adaklu District Assembly is ‘to transform the Adaklu District from an economically-deprived to a viable District; delivering people centred services with dedication and sense of urgency’. 


The Adaklu District Assembly exists ‘to improve the quality of life of the people within the Assembly’s jurisdiction by providing and maintaining basic services and facilities in the areas of education, health, sanitation and other social amenities for accelerated development in collaboration with all stakeholders.


Accountability, Client-oriented, Creativity, Diligence, Discipline, Equity, Integrity, Innovativeness, Timeliness and Transparency.


The Assemblies are created as pivots of the administrative and development decision making body in the district and the basic unit of local government administration. They have deliberative, legislative as well as executive functions. They have been established as structures to which are assigned  the responsibility of the totality of government to bring about integration of political,administrative and development support needed to achieve a more equitable allocation of power, wealth and geographically dispersed development in Ghana, and above all they are constituted as Planning authorities for the districts.

The District Assembly co-ordinates, integrate and harmonize the execution of programmes and projects under approved development plans for the District and any other development programmes promoted or carried out by Ministries, departments, public corporations and any other statutory bodies and non-governmental organizations in the Districts.

The Local Governance Act, 2016 (Act 936) states that:

(1) A District Assembly shall (a) exercise political and administrative authority in the district; (b) promote local economic development; and (c) provide guidance, give direction to and supervise other administrative authorities in the district as may be prescribed by law.

(2) A District Assembly shall exercise deliberative, legislative and executive functions.

  • Deliberative (participatory decision-making, planning, etc.)
  • Legislative (make and enforce By-Laws), and
  • Executive (management, supervisory and administrative) functions

(3) Without limiting subsections (1) and (2), a District Assembly shall

(a) Be responsible for the overall development of the district;

(b) Formulate and execute plans, programmes and strategies for the effective mobilization of the resources necessary for the overall development of the district;

(c) Promote and support productive activity and social development in the district and remove any obstacles to initiative and development;

(d) sponsor the education of students from the district to fill particular manpower needs of the district especially in the social sectors of education and health, making sure that the sponsorship is fairly and equitably balanced between male and female students;

(e) Initiate programmes for the development of basic infrastructure and provide District works and services in the district;

(f) Be responsible for the development, improvement and management of human settlements and the environment in the district;

(g) In co-operation with the appropriate national and local security agencies, be responsible for the maintenance of security and public safety in the district;

(h) Ensure ready access to courts in the district for the promotion of justice;

(i) act to preserve and promote the cultural heritage within the district;

(j) Initiate, sponsor or carry out studies that may be necessary for the discharge of any of the duties conferred by this Act or any other enactment; and

(k) Perform any other functions that may be provided under another enactment. e.g.:

  • Registration of Birth and Death Act, 1965 (Act 301)
    • Sections of the Criminal Code, 1960 (Act 29)
    • Control and Prevention of Bushfires Law, 1990 (PNDCL 229)



The District Chief Executive is the Administrative and Political Head of the Assembly. He works through the District Co-ordinating Director who coordinates the activities of all the Departments,Divisions and Agencies in the District.

The following are the departments of the Assembly:

  1. Central Administration
  2. Finance Department
  3. Education,Youth and Sports Department
  4. Health Department
  5. Agriculture Department
  6. Physical Planning Department
  7. Department of Social Welfare and Community Development
  8. Works Department
  9. Industry and Trade Department
  10. Disaster Prevention and Management Department
  11. Natural Resources Conservation Department, Forestry, Game and Wildlife Division

It is worthy of note that the Trade and Industry Department, Natural Resources Conservation Department, Game and Wildlife Division are yet to be established and operational in the District.